« ElőzőTovább »
a handsome Corinthian portico of six columns, the whole surmounted by a dome and balustrade; the interior, which is light and elegant, is decorated in a chaste yet beautiful manner. The present lessee is Mr. Charles Mathews; and under the excellent management of Madame Vestris, it is a deservedly popular place of amusement. Doors open at half-past six; performance commence at seven o'clock. Admission: Dress Circle, 5s.; Upper Boxes, 4s.; Pit, 2s.; Gallery, Is., no half-price to any part of the house.
Strand. Built by the late Mr. Scott, and formerly called the Sanspareil. A new front was added in 1841, which partakes somewhat too much of the style of the gin palace. Under the management of Madame Celeste it is a highly attractive place of amusement; the rich humour of Mr. Paul Bedford and Mr. Wright being highly relished by crowded houses nightly. Doors open at half-past six; performance commence at seven o'clock. Admission: Dress Boxes, 5s.; Boxes, 4s.; Pit, 2s,; Gallery, Is.
ST. JAMES' THEATRE,
King Street, St. James's. Erected in 1836 from the designs of Mr. S. Beazley. The middle division of the front is composed of two orders—Ionic and Corinthian; the lower one forming a projecting tetrastyle portico, placed before a distyle in arbs, supporting the second order, which is similarly disposed, and which forms an open recessed loggia, crowned by a kind of attic, with niches in threo interoolumns. The interior has two tiers of boxes, besides gallery and slips; it is well contrived both for seeing and hearing, and is decorated in the Louis-Quartorze style by Messrs. Crace. Open for the performance of French plays, under the management of Mr. Mitchell, from January to July. Admission: Stalls, 10s. 6d.; Pit, 3s.; Gallery, 2s.
THE PRINCESS'S THEATRE,
Oxford Street. A small yet elegant theatre, erected on the site ef the Queen's Bazaar, devoted to the production of English operas and farces, under the management of Mr. Maddox. Doors open at half-nast six; performance commence at seven o'clock. Admission: Boxes, 4s. Pit, 2s.; Gallery Is.
THE STRAND THEATRE,
Strand. Built by Mr. Rayner, the comedian, on the site of Baker's Panorama. It is a small yet neat theatre, and is principally confined to the production of vaudevilles and other light comic pieces. Lessee, Mr. W. Farren. Doors open at half-past six; performance commence at seven o'clock. Admission: Stalls, 4s.; Boxes, 3s.; Pit, Is. 6d.; Gallery, 6d.
SADLER'S WELLS THEATRE.
New River Head, Islington. So called from the wells formerly situated here, and from the name of a person by whom a summer theatre was first opened on this spot in 1683. The present building was constructed in 1765, but the interior has been since rebuilt. This theatre was formerly celebrated for the production of nautical pieces, its proximity to the New River enabling the manager to introduce real water into the most striking scenes. It has been for the last three or four seasons equally remarkable as the refuge of the Shakspearian drama, banished from the larger temples, which, under the judicious management of Mr. Phelps, have proved eminently successful. Doors open at half-past six; performance commence at seven o'clock. Admission: Boxes, 2s.; Pit, Is.; Gallery, 6d.; half-price to the Boxes, Is.
ROYAL SURREY THEATRE,
Blackfriars Road. Originally opened as a circus by Mr Hughes the riding-master; but having been destroyed by fire in 1805, it was rebuilt from the designs of Signor Cabanel. an Italian artist of great knowledge in theatrical buildings, under the direction and immediate superintendence of Mr. James Donaldson, and opened by Mr. Elliston; it was afterwards under the management of Mr. Thomas Dibdin, who here produced many of his most favourite pieces; and more recently under that of his brother, Mr. Charles Dibdin, and the late Mr. Davidge. The present lessee is Mr. Shepherd. Doors open at six; performance commence at half-past six o'clock. Admission: Boxes, 2s.; Pit, Is.; Gallery, 6d.
New Cut, Lambeth, was commenced in 1816; the first stone having been laid by Alderman Goodbehere, as prox for the Prince and Princess of Saxe Cobourg; it
was opened in 1818, and originally called the Cobourg Theatre. It is a large and commodious edifice without any architectural display. Lessee, Mr. Osbaldiston. Doors open at six; performance commence at half-past six o'clock. Admission: Boxes, Is.; Pit, Gd.; Gallery, 3d.'
CITY OF LONDON THEATRE,
Norton Foigate. Erected in 1837, from designs by Mr. Samuel Beazley. Lessees, Mr. Johnson and Mr. Nelson Lee. Admission: Boxes, 2s.} Pit, Is.; Gallery, 3d.
ASTLEY'S ROYAL AMPHITHEATRE,
Westminster Bridge Road. First established about 1767, as an open riding-school, but in 1780 was covered in, and formed into a regular theatre. It has been since thrice destroyed by fire—in 1794, 1803, and 1841—but has been rebuilt, and is now one of the best frequented theatres in London. Manager, Mr. Batty. Doors open at half-past six; performance commence at seven o'clock. Admission.: Boxes, 4s.; Pit, 2s.; Gallery, Is.; Upper Gallery, 6d.
Church Street, Paddington. A small but neat house, tastefully decorated, devoted to the representation of the Shakspearian drama. Doors open at half-past six; performance commence at seven o'clock. Admission: Boxes, 2s. 6d.; Pit, Is.; Gallery, 6d.
Tottenham Street, Tottenham Court Road. A small neat theatre, at one time under the management of that charming actress Mrs. Nisbett. Open occasionally. Admission: Boxes, 2s.; Pit, Is; Gallery, 6d.
ROYAL STANDARD THEATRE,
Shoreditch. Lessee, Mr. John Douglas. Doors open at a quarter past six; performance commence at a quarter before seven o'clock. Admission: Boxes, Is.; Pit, 6d.; Gallery, 4d.
ROYAL PAVILION THEATRE
Whitechapel Road. A commodious edifice, devoted to melodramatic performances. Admission: Boxes, 6d.; Pit, 4d.; Gallery, 2d.
ROYAL ACADEMY OF MUSIC,
Tenterdon Street, Hanover Square. Instituted by charter of George IV.; its object being to train up youth of both sexes for the musical profession, which is taught by the first professors at a triiling charge. Occasional concerts are given by the pupils of this institution, at which they evince uncommon proofe of proficiency.
THE MUSIC HALL,
"Wilson Street, leading from JJndell Street to Drury