« ElőzőTovább »
portion of the bend of the river, near the Chelsea Water-works, and will quite alter the arrangement of the end of the grounds of Chelsea Hospital. The street in continuation of Sloane-street is also advanced. In a Report presented to the House of Commons during the last session, it was stated that the new bridge was likely to be finished by the end of 1855; but at this time of writing, we can discover no great change in the appearance of the works as compared with the corresponding time when we noticed them in the previous year. The suspension-rods, of “excellent iron," manufactured by the patent process of Howard, Ravenhill, and Co., are said to be quite ready, and have “borne a tensile strain of 13 tons to the square inch, under the specified conditions." For the new park, a considerable amount of work in the formation of roads and esplanade has doubtless been done; but we had better revert to the Report itself for definite information. The works, which it appears were commenced in February, 1854, have been continued as rapidly as earth could be obtained and funds would permit. The works preparatory to forming the park and planting were :-1, An esplanade, the whole length by the river, about 120 feet in breadth, and 4 feet above high-water mark; 2, The “ Albert Road," east of the park, to the Lower Wandsworth Road; and, 3, Entrances to the park at the south-west and south-cast angles. Little short of 100,000 cubic yards of earth had to be brought from a distance, to fill up the docks and low ground, and 25,000 yards had to be excavated and moved. The principal work in hand during the year was the road of ascent to the bridge, 60 feet in width. For this, exclusive of the slopes, 150,000 cubic yards of earth had been required to be brought by the river. There was an enclosure all round, excepting on the east side. At our last visit, the place had still a very dreary appearance.
The Brompton and Kensington estate--that in which was invested the surplus from the Exhibition of 1851-- has been taking its intended configuration, several broad roads having been formed. On the Brompton side, the narrow road which continued past the temporary church and the college of the Oratorians, is now widened considerably. During the last session of Parliament, a vote of 15,0001. was given towards the crection of a temporary corrugated iron building, for the reception of a number of valuable objects of art and industry, now inconveniently placed elsewhere. No formal decision has been announced as to the pursuance of the original scheme of the Industrial Museum, nor as to the removal of the National Gallery ; but we believe that certain plans have been for some time in preparation. We trust the subject will be fairly discussed ; since, if ihe locality be decided on, it must involve a denial of the hoped-for advantages of the Institution to the bulk of London, inclusive of the very class of inhabitants, those at the cast, whom it is perhaps most important to consider. The ground is said to be any time good for what it has cost; and if an adequate site be positively not procurable in the most desirable spot, possibly even the Surrey side of the water might afford a central situation.-Since we wrote our last year's notice, the gates which were exhibited in 1851, by the Coal
brook Dale Company, have been erected as an entrance to Kensington Gardens on the south side, at the end of the New Walk. The parts are however arranged in a right line, instead of having the sides curved on the plan. The effect would have been better with the original arrangement. A new entrance to the gardens has also been made on the north side; but as in many instances in the public parks, the opportunity has not been taken advantage of. An octagonal building, of timber construction, has been erected in the Gardens, as a refreshment room. The necessity for free communication between opposite sides of St. James's Park has been occupying much attention, and the proposal to afford it, by a road and bridge intersecting the gardens and water, has caused a great outcry. The Chief Commissioner is now pledged to defer the matter till it has been brought before parliament. Some previous measures of a like character have justified the suspicion so readily called forth. At the east end of the town, there is now a similar outcry about the intention to take up a portion of the ground round Victoria Park, for building purposes. It has been stated, on the other side, that this portion was never intended to form part of the park, but was reserved to indemnify the outlay.
The alteration of the roadway near Buckingham Gate has been partly effected. At present a very awkward corner is formed at the junction of the new line with Stafford Row; but this arrangement, according to explanation in Parliament, is only temporary. Gates have been placed, enclosing a considerable area, before the Equerries' Entrance of the Palace; the piers, although having somewhat an imposing effect from their number, have little certainly in character with the palatial in their extreme plainness. The entrance to the park, and that to Birdcage-walk, have been modified in arrangement, the lodge having been removed and rebuilt.
4.-CHURCHES AND CHAPELS. The Reports of the Incorporated Church Building Society and of the Church Commissioners, as our readers are aware, are made up to a period of the year which is not very convenient for the purposes of our publication, as well as that they can give no particulars of many buildings which do not come under official cognizance. The Society has been induced by what we said, to print a tabular statement of the churches completed with their aid during twelve months ending the 31st March, 1855. The list includes several churches which we have already mentioned; but we may state that it gives particulars of 20 churches " rebuilt” (many of them however, we think from new designs), and of 40 " additional churches." Amongst the forty, the Decorated style, under various modifications of name, is still most in favour,—the “Early English ” being named in only 8 instances ; whilst the Perpendicular style is named in one case, and the Norman style in two cases. The amounts of estimates vary from 5701. up to 7,0691. The last Annual Report of the Church Commissioners, the 35th, is dated 24th July, 1855. It states that the churches completed by the aid of the Commissioners were 27 in number. These were (naming places or districts, parishes and counties) at Shippon,
Abingdon, Berks; and in Nant-y-glo district, Aberystruth, Monmouthshire ; in St. Paul's, in the city of Bristol ; Chatham, Kent; and at Sandford, Cheltenham, Gloucestershire; St. James's, Hatcham, St. Paul, Deptford ; at Blackheath, parish of Greenwich, and at Lee Park, parish of Lee, Kent; at Maescaled, Holyhead, Anglesey ; in St. George's, Truro, Kenwyn, Cornwall ; at North Brixton district, parish of Brixton, Lambeth, Surrey; and Nutford Place, district parish of St. Mary's, Bryanstone Square, St. Marylebone, Middlesex ; in Sutton-on-Plym, King Charles-the-Martyr, Plymouth, Devonshire; at Ringley, Prestwich, Lancashire ; in Wellington, Stoke-upon-Trent; and in St. Stephen's, Willenhall, and the Holy Trinity, Willenhall, Wolverhampton, Staffordshire; in Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire; at Idridgehay, Wirksworth, Derbyshire; and Ashley Place, St. Margaret's, Westminster; in The Groves, St. Olave's, City of York; and at Mount Pellon, Halifax; in Burmantofts, Leeds; Carver-street, and Moorfields, Sheffield ; Eastwood, Keighley; and in St. Mary's, Wakefield, all in the West Riding of Yorkshire. In these 27 churches, accommodation had been provided for 18,375 persons, including 11,774 free seats. .
Mr. Parris has now nearly completed his restoration of the paintings in St. Paul's. Mr. G. G. Scott has crowned his judicious restoration of Ely Cathedral by the completion of the altar reredos : the centre portion, of which the cost has been defrayed by Mr. J. D. Gardner, is executed in alabaster, enriched with mosaic. The canopies are supported by shafts, single and clustered, twisted and carved, and set with pieces of cut cornelian and marble mosaic. The same kind of decoration extends to the heads of the canopies, where it is relieved by gold. The backs of the canopies have alto-relievos, also in alabaster; the subjects preserving the mediæval character, whilst they are works of original merit. The reredos, generally, is enriched with foliated ornament and emblems, all admirably designed, and the whole work is one of the most elaborate and successful productions in Gothic architecture and ornamental art.-Amongst other restorations, some at the cathedrals of Wells, and Glasgow, are about being completed, and appear to be of great importance. The latter building is one of the finest examples of the Early English style in existence; but had suffered much from violence, and from intermeddling even in very recent days. Certain works at the old cathedrals of Scotland, under the Board of Works, have been so conducted as to call forth remonstrance,—though, in the case of Fortrose Cathedral, the statements are contradicted.
Under the head of new buildings, we may mention the church at Trefnant, near St. Asaph, by Mr. Scott, because the interior affords an example of what may be done with local materials—in this case the Anglesey and other coloured marbles—towards realising the chromatic effect, desirable, but which in many cases has been sought for through means and appliances not structural, and therefore less æsthetically correct. Without much ornament, the slight differences of colour here produce a result more satisfactory than the gaudiness of the ordinarily-practised “ polychromy.” Mr. Scott is disposed at all times to maintain the value of the mediæval system ; and we have said that to results of late researches, the architecture of the future—whatever it may be-will unquestionably owe much. But we are glad that one who does so much, appears to recognise the necessity of an active principle of Art. It may be taken as indicative of merit in the new church at Harrogate, that we are unable to class it with any of the known styles of Gothic—though the combination of severe Early English for the chief members, with the later character of the ornament used, involves difficult questions as to consistent treàtinent. The richness of the details has made the cost reach to between 90001. and 10,0001. In St. Andrew's Church, Ashley-place, Mr. Scott has substituted, for low aisles and the usual clerestory, aisles of greater height, with the window arches carried up under gables which break with the main aisle roof. Doncaster Church, by the same architect, although not yet roofed in, is so far important as an exemplification of what is accomplished in church architecture, that we give a view of the interior, as it will be when finished. The outlay upon this building will exceed 30,0001.—Mr. F'errey, since our last mention of his works, has completed several, equally marked by the meritorious qualities which, it may be conceded, are not wanting in the works of the more experienced architects who follow the medieval school. His church at Denshanger, in the diocese of Peterborough, is in the Early English style, and consists of nave, chancel, north aisle, vestry, porch, and a triple bell turret. The turret is carried partly by a recessed arch, springing from square angle buttresses. The porch is of open timbered work. The building is a good example of a small church. It contains 420 sittings, all which except 20 are free, and the cost was 21001.—One of the most recent London churches has been erected in the Bayswater-road. The “decorated” style is employed, with some richness of detail. The grouping of the tower, surmounted by a crocketed spire, is successful. The church will accommodate 1600 adults and children, and will have cost about 14,0001. Messrs. Francis were the architects. The church of All Saints, Kensington Park, by Mr. W. White, is another example of progress to right principles in the use of materials. Stone of various colours, Devonshire marble, and different-coloured tiles and brickwork, aid in the external and internal effect. In the clerestory, part of each window-head, instead of being pierced, is filled with mosaic-work. We may again suggest, though the remark may have no reference to this church, that in all cases, great care should be taken to avoid a party-coloured effect. The differences in colour or shade should be much less than they are generally made. The chief result is to be expressed by the masonry, or relievo-work-in short by form; and anything that should go to the extent of making colour as prominent as it is in some old works, may for a while tickle antiquarian taste, but will not permanently please-if indeed it ever please—the public. A slight modification of the effect, by colour, on the other hand, tells as a variation on the formal design. This church also displays the innovation of large squares of stained glass, in place of the ordinary perishable quarry lights.-A church at Oakengates, in Shropshire, by Mr. J. P. Har