Oldalképek
PDF
ePub

Prebendary of the abbey. The east view from the entrance presents a view of the brass chapel and tomb of the royal founder, and round it, in the eastern semicircle, are the chapels of the Dukes of Buckingham and Richmond. At the east end of the south aisle is the royal vault; and in the corresponding part of the north aisles is the tomb of the murdered princes. No part of this chapel is more worthy of admiration than the roof, which is nearly flat, and supported upon arches rising from twelve magnificent gothic pillars between the nave and side-aisles.

The entrance to the Abbey is through the eastern gateway, leading to Poet's Corner, opposite the House of Lords. The Poet's Corner, the nave, and north transepts, are free at all times. Guides are in attendance, for the purpose of showing the chapels, from nine till six o'clock every day, except Sundays, Good Friday, Christmas Day, and general fasts, at a charge of Sixpence for each person. On entering Poet's Corner, Dryden's monument is on the right-hand, and the entrance to the ambulatory, in which are the nine chapels, next to it.

Not far from the Abbey stood the Sanctuary, the place of refuge absurdly granted in former times to criminals of certain denominations. The church belonging to it was in the form of a cross. It is supposed to have been the work of the Confessor. Within its precinets was born Edward V.; and here his unhappy mother took refuge with her younger son Richard, to secure him from his cruel uncle, who had already possession of the elder brother.

To the west of the Sanctuary stood the Eleemosynary, or Almonry, where the alms of the Abbey were distributed. But it is still more remarkable for having been the place where the first printing-press ever known in England was erected. It was in 1474, when William Caxton, encouraged by "the great," and probably by the learned Thomas Milling, then Abbot, produced. The Game and Play of the Chesse."

[graphic]
[graphic]

ST. SAVIOUR Southwark, is one of the most ancient and interesting buildings of London; it was founded before the Conquest, and rebuilt in the fourteenth century, the poet Ĝower being a great benefactor: but it has been grievously disfigured by repairs and supposed improvements.

The church is a noble fabric, of the pointed order, with three aisles running east and west, and a transept like a cathedral. The breadth of the transept is one hundred and nine feet. Twenty-six pillars, in two rows, support the roof; and the chancel and the galleries in the walls of the choir are adorned with pillars and arches similar to those of Westminster Abbey.

The Ladye Chapel, at the east end, is a very interestiny work; happily saved from destruction on making the approaches to New London Bridge, and since restored in admirable taste.

[graphic][subsumed]

INTERIOR OF ST. SAVIOUR'S. Here are numerous monuments of great interest; such as those of William of Wykeham, the poet Gower, and Bishop Andrews. The dramatists Fletcher and Massinger were buried here in one grave. The tower, which is erected on four very strong pillars, is one hundred and fifty feet high, and contains twelve of the finest bells in England. It is memorable as being the place where Hollar drew his views of London, both before and after the great fire.

[graphic]
[ocr errors]
[ocr errors]
[ocr errors]
[ocr errors]

ST. STEPHEN'S, Walbrook. This small but beautiful church was erected by Sir Christopher Wren, between the years 1672 ard 1679, and has been universally admired for its elegance and proportion, being by many considered the masterpiece of the architect. « The general effect of the interior," says Carter, “ although deprived of its principal lightthe east window-is undoubtedly grand and imposing : and notwithstanding pious feelings are not so immediately the result as when yielding to the solemn impres. sions inspired by our Gothic fanes, still much deserved praise must be allowed to the merits of the laborious knight in the present instance." It is seventy-five feet long, fifty-six feet wide, and thirty-four feet high. The plan is original, yet chaste and beautiful : the roof is supported and the area divided by sixteen Corinthian columns, eight of which sustain an hemispherical cupola,

adorned with caissons, and having a lantern light in the centre. Over the altar is a picture, by West, “ The Martyrdom of St. Stephen,"— presented by the Rev. Dr. Wilson, in the year 1776.'

[graphic][subsumed][subsumed][ocr errors]

Cheapside, erected in 1673, by Sir Christopher Wren, on the site of the old church, destroyed by the great fire in 1666.

The principal ornament of this church is its spire, which rises to the height of two hundred and twenty-five feet from the ground, and is much admired for its beauty

« ElőzőTovább »