« ElőzőTovább »
INTERIOR OF ROYAL ITALIAN OPERA. February to August. Doors open at half-past seven ; performance commence at eight o'clock. Admission the same as at Her Majesty's Theatre.
DRURY LANE THEATRE, Brydges Strcet.' The original theatre on this site having been bnrnt down in 1809, it was rebuilt in 1811, from designs by Mr. Wyatt. The front towards Brydges Street, which is exceedingly mean, is ornamented with pilasters of the Doric order, with a portico. In 1822 the interior was entirely remodelled by Mr. Peto from designs by S. Beazley, Esq., architect, and will contain three thousand and sixty persons. The staircase, hall, rotunda, and saloon are of great beauty, and with the
interior at once convenient and commodious. In consequencee of the drepressed state of the classic English drama, this theatre is now devoted to the production of German operas and French horsemanship. Open at irregular intervals; the prices of admission varying with the nature of the performances.
Erected on the site of the little theatre in the Haymarket, from the designs of John Nash, Esq., and opened for dramatic performances July 4th, 1821. The front presents an elevated portico supported by six columns of the Corinthian order, and above the pediment are nine circular windows, tastefully connected by sculptured
HAYMARKET THEATRE. ornaments. The interior is tastefully decorated and is remarkable for having the sides rectangular, and the centre very slightly curved, thus differing from any of the other theatres. The present lessee is Mr. B. Webster, under whose admirable management it has for several years been one of the most attractive theatres in the metropolis. Doors open at half-past six; performance commence at seven o'clock. Admission: Boxes, 58.; Pit, 3s. ; Gallery, 2s.
Wellington Street, North Strand. Erected on the site of the old theatre, which was destroyed by fire, February 16th, 1839, from the designs of Mr. s. Beazley. It has
a handsome Corinthian portico of six columns, the whole surmounted by a dome and balustrade; the interior, which is light and elegant, is decorated in a chaste yet beautiful manner. The present lessee is Mr. Charles Mathews; and under the excellent management of Madame Vestris, it is a deservedly popular place of amusement. Doors open at half-past six ; performance commence at seven o'clock. Admission : Dress Circle, 5s.; Upper Boxes, 4s. ; Pit, 2s. ; Gallery, 1s., no half-price to any part of the house.
ADELPHI THEATRE, Strand. Built by the late Mr. Scott, and formerly called the Sanspareil. A new front was added in 1841, which partakes somewhat too much of the style of the gin palace. Under the management of Madame Celeste it is a highly attractive place of amusement; the rich humour of Mr. Paul Bedford and Mr. Wright being highly relished by crowded houses nightly. Doors open, at half past six ; performance commence at seven o'clock. Admission: Dress Boxes, 5s. ; Boxes, 4s. ; Pit, 2s, ; Gallery, 1s.
ST. JAMES' THEATRE,
King Street, St. James's. Erected in 1836 from the designs of Mr. S. Beazley. The middle division of the front is composed of two orders—Ionic and Corinthian; the lower one forming a projecting tetrastyle portico, placed before a distyle in artis, supporting the second order, which is similarly disposed, and which forms an open recessed loggia, crowned by a kind of attic, with niches in three intercolumns. The interior has two