The Ordeal of Mrs. Snow: And Other Stories

Első borító
Open Road Media, 2018. aug. 28. - 276 oldal
This Edgar Award–winning collection from the author behind the Peter Duluth novels delivers “a dozen shock treatments for varying degrees of murder” (Kirkus Reviews).
Patrick Quentin, best known for the Peter Duluth puzzle mysteries, also penned outstanding detective novels from the 1930s through the 1960s under other pseudonyms, including Q. Patrick and Jonathan Stagge. Anthony Boucher wrote: “Quentin is particularly noted for the enviable polish and grace which make him one of the leading American fabricants of the murderous comedy of manners; but this surface smoothness conceals intricate and meticulous plot construction as faultless as that of Agatha Christie.”
This Edgar Award–winning short story collection introduces multiple murderers with a myriad of motives:
In the title story, which was adapted for an episode of The Alfred Hitchcock Hour, a wealthy woman trapped in a vault passes the hours pondering her life and her loves as time—and her oxygen supply—runs out . . .
In post–World War II Sicily, a visiting American discovers that his charity toward a young boy has ensnared him in a trap only a child could have dreamed up . . .
A cheating husband planning on killing his wife learns that even the best-laid plans can go astray—especially if your wife is a lot smarter than you . . .
A child writes down what she’s going to say in a court case, revealing the honest, innocent heart of a little girl—and the cold, calculating mind of a monster . . .
Quentin’s collection of crimes “produces a cool chill and a calculated thrill” (Kirkus Reviews) and includes: “The Ordeal of Mrs. Snow,” “A Boy’s Will,” “Portrait of a Murderer,” “Little Boy Lost,” “Witness for the Prosecution,” “The Pigeon-Woman,” “All the Way to the Moon,” “Mother, May I Go Out to Swim?,” “Thou Lord Seest Me,” “Mrs. Appleby’s Bear,” “Love Comes to Miss Lucy,” and “This Will Kill You.”

Mit mondanak mások - Írjon ismertetőt

Nem találtunk ismertetőket a szokott helyeken.


1. rész -
2. rész -
3. rész -
4. rész -
5. rész -
6. rész -
7. rész -
8. rész -
9. rész -
10. rész -
11. rész -
12. rész -
13. rész -
14. rész -
15. rész -

Más kiadások - Összes megtekintése

Gyakori szavak és kifejezések

A szerzőről (2018)

Patrick Quentin, Q. Patrick, and Jonathan Stagge were pen names under which Hugh Callingham Wheeler (1912–1987), Richard Wilson Webb (1901–1966), Martha Mott Kelley (1906–2005), and Mary Louise White Aswell (1902–1984) wrote detective fiction. Most of the stories were written together by Webb and Wheeler, or by Wheeler alone. Their best-known creation is amateur sleuth Peter Duluth. In 1963, the story collection The Ordeal of Mrs. Snow was given a Special Edgar Award by the Mystery Writers of America.

Bibliográfiai információk