The Kreutzer Sonata and Other Stories

Első borító
Penguin UK, 1985. szept. 26. - 352 oldal
'The Kreutzer Sonata' is the self-lacerating confession of a man consumed by sexual jealousy and eaten up by shame and eventually driven to murder his wife. The story caused a sensation when it first appeared and Tolstoy's wife was appalled that he had drawn on their own experiences together to create a scathing indictment of marriage. 'The Devil', centring on a young man torn between his passion for a peasant girl and his respectable life with his loving wife, also illustrates the impossibility of pure love. 'The Forged Coupon' shows how an act of corruption can spiral out of control, and 'After the Ball' examines the abuse of power. Written during a time of spiritual crisis in Tolstoy's life, these late stories reflect a world of moral uncertainties.

Részletek a könyvből

Mit mondanak mások - Írjon ismertetőt

Felhasználói értékelések

5 csillag
4 csillag
3 csillag
2 csillag
1 csillag

LibraryThing Review

Felhasználói ismertető  - charlie68 - LibraryThing

An excellent series of stories of ordinary people doing extraordinary things and vice versa. Gives a good account of what it must have been like in Russia in that era. Teljes értékelés elolvasása

LibraryThing Review

Felhasználói ismertető  - vanjr - LibraryThing

Most do not like this book, but I enjoyed the stories and some of the lessons they teach. It is certainly a welcome change from War and Peace. Teljes értékelés elolvasása

Kiválasztott oldalak


After the Ball
Postface to The Kreutzer Sonata
Further Reading

Más kiadások - Összes megtekintése

Gyakori szavak és kifejezések

A szerzőről (1985)

Leo Tolstoy (1828-1910), the Russian prose writer, is chiefly remembered for his novels, War and Peace and Anna Karenina.

David McDuff has also edited Dostoyevsky's House of the Dead for Penguin Classics.

Bibliográfiai információk