« ElőzőTovább »
Τ. Η Ε.
Gentleman's Magazine ;
For' N O V E MBER,
BEING THE FIFTH NUMBER OF THE SECOND PART OF VOL. LIII.
No 5. Is a brass spur, which has lost N making some re- its rowel. The pattern not uncommon, pairs at the Tem- but the proportions rather large, though ple-Mill in Leyton the exact measure was not taken.
parith, Ellex, on the No 6. Is the rib.bone of some beast, I
border of Hackney : foot 10 inches long, which probably
and deepening the which, according to the account given channel at the mill-tail, the workmen of this discovery in one of the newspastruck on a stone coffin. The lid being pers, produced" an urn full of Roman broken in pieces by the pickaxes, they coins, fome in high preservation, from found within the coffin the several arti- Julius Cæfar to Constantine the Great, cles engraved in the Plate annexed, ex with several medals, a stone coffin wich cept Nos 3 and 6, which were in the the keleton in it entire, measuring 9 mud on the outside. The coffin lay E. feet 7 inches long, and an inscription on and W. and four or five feet below the it unintelligible; it was added, that in bed of the channel; and being firmly removing the old foundation, a vault Yunk in the bed, was left there as the - was discovered, in which were several best foundation for the new fuperftruc- urns, but quite imperfect ; end that it is ture. The articles here represented are yery remarkable, the vaults for centupreserved at the adjoining public-house, ries past are supposed to have been 36 where the writer of this law them about fcet under water." fix weeks ago Two or three coins, Instances of human skeletons ja stone one of which by the description of the coffins in places remote from churches, labourers appeared to be farge Roman cemeteries, or even from towns and vilbrass, and tolerably fair, and the other lages, are not unfrequent in this kinga jetton or Nuremberg counter, were dom. They have been found under found at a little distance in the water. barrows or sepulchral hills, and even ip
No 1. Is the blade of a sword, 12 in- what are now corn fields distant from ches long at the hilt, in the transverse houses, and without any elevation of part of which fome (mall traces of wood ground above the surface. appear.
Perhaps the accompanyment of arNO 2. Is a battle-axe, much consumed mour may not be so frequent in stone also by the ruft; the Thank or socket, coffins; though under barrows frequent. by which it was fixed to the handle, is The remains of Childeric, king of the preserved The exa& dimensions of this Franks, who died A. D. 481, and was weapon were not taken.
interred without the walls of Tournay, N° 3. Is a fingular padlock, with its were discovered 1635. Along with his key. hole. This is st inches by 34 inches. bones, and those of another person, and
N° 4. Appears to be the ornament or of an horse, were found his sword, (pear, crest of a helmet, resembles a feather, and battle-axe, almost consumed with and is of brass, covered with thick rust. Tuft, and a variety of more valuable ar$ix inches long.
ticles, such as seal rings, horse trappings, cause to be found onę WHITE BULL and gold coins. Alaric, king of the every year of his term as often as it Goths, was buried in the bed of a river, thall happen that any gentlewoman and Attila in three coffins of different (mulierem generosam) or any other metals, with a variety of spoils and wea woinen, from devotion or rows by pons taken from his enemics.
them made, thall visit the tomb of the The Knights Templars of St. John glorious king and martyr St. Edmund, of Jerusalem certainly had a mill and to make the oblations of the said white some tenures in Hackney parish. In bull, &c. In witness whereof, to one the Cotton Library there is a volume part the feal of the facrist is affixed, about the Knights Templars, wherein
&c. Dated the 4th day of June, in the mention is made of St. Augufline's, 2d year of the reign of King Henry, Hackney, and the lands and rents they King of England, the seventh since the had there, namely, about 12 acres, and Conqueft.” 71. quit rents, and a mill commonly 2. snorber Register of Ibe said Monastery. called Temple Mill. Thus Stype, in " This indenture, made the 12th hiz Survey of London, Appendix, 122. day of September, in the 11th year of Thele lands are not, however, specified the reign of King Henry the VIIIth. in the Inquisition of the Templars' pof- between master John Eye, facrift of the 1e1fins, 1185, (Mon. Angl. 11.5267: monastery of St. Edmund's Bury, and but in the list of the poiretions which Richard Skinner, of Bury aforesaid, the Koights Hospitalers held 1434, after husbandman, certifies that the aforesaid those of the Templars had been trans- John Eye, with the consent, &c. hath ferred to them (Ib. 543.] ve 1ead, demifed avd to farm let to the aforesaid
Willielmus Harings dedit Tem- Richard the manor of Habyrdon, &c. “ plarjis pratum juxta Hackney voca for the term of ten years, &c. And the tim Haflings mede."
faid Richard fall find ONE WHITE The manufactory of brass work set BULL as often as it shall happen, &c. up here was one of the many bubbles of as before. the South Sea year. There was pub- 3. Another original inftrument, with rbe lilled, 1721,
“'The report of the pro capitular jeal of the monastery annexed. “ ceedings of the infpectors of the Tom * This indenture certifies that we
ple mills brafs work,” replied to in John, by divine permission, abbot of "The answer of the treasurer and ma, the monastery of St. Edmund's Bury,
nagers of the Temple mills brass with the content and permission of the " work to the unjust rc Auction and in- prior and convent of the fame, have de
finuations contained in a printed paper mifcd and to farm let to Robert Wright, “ intituled The Rcport, &c.”
glazier, and to John Auable, pewterer, At Bifam abbey, in Berkshire, which of Bury aforefaid, our manor of Ha. also belonged to the Templars, was d byrdon, with the appui cenances pernother miil, caried Temple mill, where taining to the office of facrift of our the like manufactory of bariery works, said monaftery, &c. to hold from the as it is called, of copper and brass pans feast of St. Michael the Archangel next and kerties. was carried on at the same ensuing after the date of these presents, time, and kill, if I mistake not, sub, for the term of twenty years, &c. pay.
D. H. ing yearly to the faid' abbot and his
fucccilors, for the ufe of the office of Translations of three authentic Registers. sacrift, 201. 45. &c And the faid Roof the Monastery of St. Edmund's bert and John thall tind ONE WHITE
Bury, formerly kept by the sacrift. BULL every year of the aforesaid tem, "T
HIS indenture certifies, that as often as it ihall happen that any gen:
inafter Johu Swaffham, facrist of tlewoman, or any other womch, froin the monastery of St. Edmund's Bury; devotion or vows by them made, thall with the consent and permission of the visit the shrine of the glorious king and prior and couvent of the tame, hath martyr St. Edmund, to make the ob. dunited and to farm let to Simeon lations of the said white bull, &c. In Lolepeke, of Bury aforesaid, yeoman, witnets whercof, to one part of this the inanor called Habyrdon in Bury indenture remaining with the aboveaforesaid, &c. to have and to hold for named abbot, prior and convent, the the term of seven years, &c. paying faid Robert and John have affixed their yearly, &c. And the laid Sineon, his tcals, and to the other part remaining cxecutors and alligas, mall find or with the said Robert and John, we the
fits in part.
+ It appears by the regifter chat « Mt. William Hawkins, Curate, was tory of the Abbey of Bes, Lond. 1779,” p. 99. buried June 29, 1637."