« ElőzőTovább »
MONDAY, June 18, 1888.
The Annual Meeting of the BUNKER Hill MonuMENT ASSOCIATION was held this day at the Hall of the New England Historic Genealogical Society, No. 18 Somerset Street, Boston, at half-past ten o'clock, A. M.
Prayer was offered by Rev. WILLIAM E. GRIFFIS, D. D., of the Shawmut Congregational Church.
Hon. CHARLES DEVENS, President of the Association, delivered the Annual Address.
Hon. F. W. LINCOLN presented and read the Report of the Standing Committee, which was accepted by vote.
Hon. TIMOTHY T. SAWYER, Treasurer of the Association, presented his Annual Report, which was accepted by vote.
Upon the nomination of the Standing Committee, the following were unanimously elected Honorary Members of the Association:
Hon. DouglAS PUTNAM.
The following were admitted Associate Members :
CHARLES H. ALLEN.
ERNEST C. MARSHALL.
The Chair appointed Messrs. HENRY LEE, HENRY H. EDES, BENJAMIN A. GOULD, EDWARD CHANNING, and THOMAS GAFFIELD, a committee to nominate officers for the year 1888–89.
The Committee reported the list on page 10, which was unanimously elected by ballot.
Mr. LINCOLN reminded the meeting of the fact that the Association had been authorized by an Act of the Legislature some years since, to rebuild the monument on Sentry or Beacon Hill; and that the original tablets on the monument, now in the State House, were at its disposal if the Association would undertake the work.
The late Civil War, and the erection of the monuments to commemorate the services of those who participated in it, had caused a postponement of the enterprise.
The present prospect of an enlargement of the State House, covering probably the very site of the old monument, suggested the feasibility, if the architectural proprieties will permit, of re-erection in an open court, or square, connected with the new edifice. The original monument, it will be recollected, was the first which was erected to commemorate the men and events of the Revolution. It was erected by the citizens of Boston in 1790, and taken down in 1811, at the time the original summit of the hill was removed.
The subject was, on motion, referred to the Board of Directors of the Association, to take such action when the time arrives as they shall deem expedient.
Voted, That the Address and Proceedings be printed.
A. C. FEARING, JR.,