Oldalképek
PDF
ePub

In the spring of 1806 the Earl of Harrington was sent to the court of Berlin, immediately after Lord Harrowby, and both returned nearly at the same time re infectd, his Prussian Majesty having evinced a determination to adopt the politics of St. Cloud.

Soon after, in the same year, the Earl was sent to Ireland as Commander-in-Chief of the forces in that part of the empire, of which his grandfather had been twice Viceroy, in 17*7 and 1749.

His Lordship was appointed Constable of Windsor Castle, in the room of the Earl of Cardigan deceased, March 17. 1812; and in the same year was succeeded in the chief command in Ireland by the present Earl of Hopetoun. At the coronation in 1821, the Earl of Harrington was the bearer of the Great Standard of England.

By his Countess before mentioned, (who was a conspicuous lady in the court circles, being a great favourite with Queen Charlotte, and who died Feb. 3. 1824,) the Earl of Harrington had eight sons and three daughters : — 1st, the Right Hon. Charles, now Earl of Harrington, a Colonel in the army, and a Lord of the Bedchamber; his Lordship is unmarried: 2d, the Honourable Lincoln Edwin Robert, a LieutenantColonel in the army, C. B., and a Groom of the Bedchamber, also unmarried: 3d, the most Honourable Anna Maria, Marchioness of Tavistock, married to the Marquis of Tavistock in 1808, and has one child, Lord Russell: 4th, the Honourable Leicester Fitzgerald Charles, a Lieutenant-Colonel in the army, and a distinguished traveller; he, like his two elder brethren, is a bachelor: 5th, the Honourable William Sefton George, who died an infant: 6th, the Honourable Fitzroy Henry Richard, also originally in the army, but now in holy orders, Rector of Gallon in Yorkshire, and Chaplain to the Duke of Clarence; he married, in 1808, Miss Caroline Wyndham, daughter of the Honourable Charles Wyndham, and has two surviving sons: 7th, the Honourable Francis Charles, a Major in the army; he married Miss Wilson of Dublin, and has issue a daughter: 8th, the Honourable Henry William: 9th, Lady Caroline Anne: 10th, the most Noble Charlotte Augusta, Duchess of Leinster, married to the present Duke of Leinster in 1818, and has had several children; and, 11th, the Honourable Augustus.

Lord Harrington was 11 th in lineal descent from George Duke of Clarence, brother to King Edward IV. through the honourable and distinguished houses of Pole Lord Montacute, Hastings Earl of Huntingdon, Somerset Duke of Beaufort, and Fitzroy Duke of Grafton. But Lord Harrington was one of the last men who stood in need of borrowing merit from the dead. In every relation of life, public as well as private, he stood forward unexceptionable and pre-eminent. As a Lord of Parliament, a Privy Counsellor, and a General officer, he was as zealous as efficient in the discharge of every important duty which he owed to his king and country; nor was he deficient in the milder virtues of the Christian, the husband, the parent, and the friend. He lived honoured with the cordial personal intimacy of his two successive sovereigns; whilst his society was eagerly sought after and highly prized by all that there was of noble, of great, of good, among his equals. His charities were widely spread, liberally dispensed, and unostentatiously secret. He may truly be said to "have done good by stealth, and blush'd to find it fame." His death, which took place at Brighton on the 15th of September, 1829, was a splendid instance of euthanasia. Nine of his children surrounded his couch, and in affectionate anguish watched his last-drawn breath. He was attended to the grave by his seven sons, and a numerous tenantry to whom he had ever stood in loco parentis. As his memory will be embalmed, may his example be copied by his successors; and long, very long,

"At Elvaston may British bounty stand,
And Justice linger ere she quit the land."

The remains of the Earl of Harrington were interred at Elvaston in Derbyshire, on Sunday, Sept. 27. The procession moved from Shardlow in this order: — Sixty-three tenants on horseback, then thirty-two on foot; a coach and four, with the steward and clergyman; mutes on horseback; state lid of plumes; coronet and cushion; hearse; two coaches and six, and two coaches and four, containing all the Earl's six sons, Sir John Whale, and John Curzon, Esq.

The materials for the foregoing Memoir have been derived from "Public Characters," " The Royal Military Calendar," and " The Gentleman's Magazine."

[ocr errors]

No. VIII.
THOMAS HARRISON, Esq.

ARCHITECT.

A poimON of the following brief biographical sketch was originally published, immediately after Mr. Harrison's decease, in a Chester paper. For the remainder we are indebted to the courtesy of a friend.

Mr. Harrison was born at Richmond, in Yorkshire, in the year 1744. Having shown a taste for drawing, he went to Rome, under the patronage of the late Lord Dundas, about the year 1769; and remained there for several years.

At the time Mr. Harrison was pursuing his studies at Rome, Pope Ganganelli was forming a collection of ancient sculpture in an old part of the building adjoining to the Cortile of the Belvidere, which had been fitted up for the purpose; and part of the foundation for a projected portico round the Cortile, for the reception of the Apollo Belvidere, the Laocoon, &c., was actually laid when the young English artist paid one of his visits to that part of the Vatican. As this building was preparing to receive the finest pieces of sculpture then in the Vatican, it appeared to him that neither the rich manner of adorning or lining the walls with variegated marbles, nor the lights thrown by a projecting portico on these fine and simple statues and fragments of sculpture, would be advantageous either for general observation or for the study

of artists. These observations induced Mr. Harrison to make sketches for converting the court, which is 100 feet square, into a museum for sculpture, by covering the whole space, and forming four galleries, each 100 feet long, 20 feet wide, and 25 feet high, the arched roofs of which were divided into five compartments; the centre and the two extreme ones were covered by small domes, with a circular light in the centre of each, so that this quadrilateral gallery would be lighted by eight of these lights. There were eight principal square niches at the terminations of the galleries, for some of the most remarkable of the statues. They were proposed to be ornamented with the antique columns then in the Vatican, which have been used in the arcades of the present building, and were to be finished more or less like those in the Pantheon, but without pedestals. In the space between the lights were circular niches from the floor, and without columns, for other statues, or fragments of sculpture; and in the intermediate spaces between the niches, as well as above, under the cornice, were places for other fragments and bas-reliefs. The central space was circular, 54 feet in diameter, covered by a dome, with a light in the centre; to this were four entrances from the centre of the galleries, and in the angles were four large circular recesses for the reception of statues, &c. The spaces between these recesses and the four doors were ornamented with double marble pilasters. The sketch of this idea having been seen by Mr. Hewson, the sculptor, he took occasion to mention it to Firanesi, who so far approved of it, as to urge Mr. Harrison to finish the design, and requested Mr. Jenkins (then residing in Rome, and known to all travellers visiting that place) to introduce the author and his design to the Pope, which was accordingly done; and his Holiness referred Mr. Jenkins and the artist to Cardinal Braschi (the late Pius the Vlth), who was Treasurer, and had the direction of these improvements. After examining the drawings, the Cardinal appointed a meeting upon the spot, at which his Highness attended, together with the Pope's architect and sculptor, Mr. Mengs the painter, Mr. Jenkins, and the young Englishman.

« ElőzőTovább »