« ElőzőTovább »
Christchurch, near Bay's bill, in the hamlet of Alstone, is a spacious and beautiful edifice, erected at an expense of £18,000., raised in £100. shares, and consecrated on the 26th January, 1840; it consists of a nave and a transept at the east end ; at the west end is a handsome tower 174 feet high, built in the early English style, with highly enriched pinnacles; the summit of this tower commands fine views of the forest of Dean and the vales of Evesham and Malvern ; the interior is handsomely and commodiously fitted up, and the pulpit is of beautifully carved stone; this edifice is capable of holding 2000 persons.
St. Philip's Church, situate in Leckhampton parish, is an exceedingly neat building, with a tower 86 feet high; consecrated for divine worship May 1st, 1840; it affords accommodation for about 800 persons.
Cheltenham Chapel, situate in St. George's place, was built by voluntary subscription, in 1809, under the auspices of the late Rev. Rowland Hill, who gave the pulpit' and desks; the building measures 65 feet by 45, and will contain 1000 persons; by the deed the members are denominated protestant dissenters; the officiating minister is required to believe, preach, and maintain the doctrinal articles of the Church of England, as specified in the Toleration Act.
The Countess of Huntingdon's or Portland Chapel, in North place, was erected at the sole expense of Robert Capper, Esq. ; its admeasurement is 67 feet by 42, and will hold 800 persons; beneath the chapel is a large school-room where children are instructed on the plan of the British and Foreign School Society.
Highbury Chapel, in Grosvenor street, originally erected for the Rev. Mr. Snow, a seceder from the Church of England, was purchased in 1827 by the late Thomas Wilson, Esq. and the Rev. G. Burder of Stroud, for the Independents or Congregationalists, by whom it was opened in 1831 ; it will contain about 1000 persons: attached to it are Sunday and Day Schools. The Tabernacle, in the Bath road, is also for Independents, capable of holding about 500 worshippers, and is under the superintendence of the officiating minister of Highbury chapel.
The Wesleyan Chapel, in St. George's street, erected in 1829, is a handsome square brick building, having a portico in front, and will hold 1000 persons; underneath the chapel
are extensive rooms, used as schools. Bethesda Chapel, in Great Norwood street, also belongs to the Wesleyans.
Ebenezer Chapel, in King street, originally a Wesleyan Chapel, but for the last three years has been occupied by the Baptists. Bethel Chapel, in St. James's place, also belongs to the Baptists; this building was built in 1821, upon a much larger scale than its predecessor. Salem Chapel, in Clarence parade, opened June 6th, 1844, is a handsome and commodious building, capable of holding 1800 persons; its members are Baptists who maintain mixed communion.
The Unitarian Chapel, at Bay's hill, lately completed at a cost of £1600., is a neat edifice; its roof of open oak-work is much admired, being similar to that of Westminster hall.
The Society of Friends' Meeting House, in Manchester walk, is a neat stone building, and will contain about 400 persons.
Roman Catholic Chapel, situate in Somerset place, was opened in 1810; it is a commodious but plain erection, and will contain 300 persons. The Jews' Synagogue, in St. James's square, was built in 1839. Here is an endowed grammar school, a proprietary college school, and numerous charitable schools for the education of the less affuent.
The Free Grammar School was endowed in 1574, for 50 scholars, by Richard Pate, Esq. of Minsterworth, in the reign of Queen Elizabeth; the nomination of head master is vested in Corpus Christi College, Oxford, where Richard Pate “had been brought up in good letters.” Rev. W. H. Hawkins, B.D. rector of St. Aldate, Oxford, is the present head master.
Proprietary College School. The object of this institution is to provide for the sons of noblemen and gentlemen a sound classical, mathematical, and general education on moderate terms, and strictly in unison with the principles of religion, as taught by the united Church of England and Ireland. This beautiful building, situate in the Bath road, was opened on June 22nd, 1843; it is erected in the early English style of architecture, the frontage occupying an extent of 240 feet; in the centre is a handsome square tower 80 feet high, ornamented with battlements and turrets ; the interior is commodious, elegantly fitted up, and remarkably well adapted for its intended purposes. This structure, which is of stone, principally from the quarries of
Dowdeswell, was erected from designs by Mr. J. Wilson of Bath.
· New Proprietary School, Belmont house, Winchcombe street. This Institution has been formed for the purpose of affording to the sons of gentlemen and tradesmen an efficient classical or commercial education; comprising such branches of useful knowledge as may be advantageously introduced, together with religious instruction on the principles of the Church of England.
A National School, upon Dr. Bell's system, was opened in the Town hall, on the 5th of June, 1816 : subsequently a building was erected in the Bath road more suitable, and the school was transferred there January 6th, 1817. In 1836, extensive schools upon the same system were opened in St. Paul's street, contiguous to St. Paul's church. Near St. James's square is an Infant School, upon a large scale; here are also schools conducted upon the British and Foreign School Society, besides Sunday schools attached to almost all the churches and chapels. The charitable Institutions are numerous, and well supported.
In 1813, a Dispensary and Casualty Hospital was established; in 1839 it was enlarged, and made into a General Hospital and Dispensary. The Asylum for destitute female orphans, was founded by her late Majesty Queen Charlotte, in 1808. A provident clothing, and district visiting society was instituted in 1827, by the Rev. F. Close, remodelled and its operations extended in 1834; and a dispensary for the diseases of women and children was established in 1835; and a Coburgh or Lying-in Charity in 1817, on the occasion of the death of H. Ř. H. the Princess Charlotte ; here is also a Loan Fund Society, conducted upon the most equitable principles ; a Servants' Home, an Animals' Friend Society, with many other useful institutions, which are carefully watched over by their numerous benefactors and supporters.
Cheltenham, beside the advantages derived from a numerous located body of wealthy and influential personages, who cause a brisk trade in the necessaries and luxuries of life, is indebted to its classic and picturesque scenery for many visitors, generally the titled, the opulent, and invalids of the more affluent classes, who during the summer season arrive in throngs, not only to behold the fairest essay of Nature's skill and care, but to partake of its health-restoring waters, and inhale its pure and genial breezes, the extraordinary salubrity of which has long been proved by the longevity of its inhabitants; in fact, this is equally applicable to the whole of the county; at Cleeve, three miles distant, in the reign of James I. eight old men performed a morris dance, whose united ages made as many centuries; and it is remarkable that during the whole month of August, 1832, when cholera so awfully prevailed in the surrounding country, only 16 persons were interred in Cheltenham, and not one case of cholera occurred in the whole parish.
Post Office.—At the time of this going to press an alteration in the despatches is about taking place, in conseguence of which, Post Office information will be found after classification of trades.
Bankers. Cheltenham and Gloucestershire, Clarence street; manager, William Ridley; draws upon London and Westminster Bank, Lothbury.
County of Gloucester, 105, High street; managers, James Hinton Bowly and Edward Frampton ; draws upon Robarts, Curtis and Co., 15, Lombard street.
Gloucestershire Banking Company, Higl, street; manager, John Timewell Addams; draw upon Williams, Deacon and Co., Birchin lane.
National Provincial Bank of England, 398, High street; manager, Lt.-Col. John Cox; draw upon London Joint Stock Bank, Princes street, Bank.
Newspapers - Bath and Cheltenham Gazette, G. and W. Wood, proprietors, Bath; published every Wednesday evening. Cheltenham Agent, John Lovesy, Imperial Library.
Cheltenham Chronicle, published Thursday morning, by Samuel Clutterbuck, Proprietor, Pittville street.
Cheltenham Examiner, published Wednesday morning, by George Rowe and George Norman, Proprietors, Clarence street.
Cheltenham Free Press, published Saturday morning, by Samuel Charles Harper, Proprietor, 318, High street.
Cheltenham Journal, published Monday morning, by John Joseph Hadley, Proprietor, Queen's buildings.
Cheltenham Looker-on, published Saturday morning, by Henry Davies, Proprietor, Montpellier promenade.
CHELTENHAM, Including ALSTONE, LECKHAMPTON, and part of
Abbott Mrs. Ann, 8, Bay's hill villas